This is one of the first week’s we can focus on new comic releases!

Here’s the featured new releases coming out this Wednesday, June 3rd 2020!

DC Comics

First up is this amazing Catwoman 80th Anniversary Special!

Clocking in at $9.99 it’s full of so much great material I can’t say enough about it. The Ed Brubaker / Cameron Stewart story reads like an homage to Darwyn Cooke and it’s worth the price of admission alone. Lots of decades variant covers too. They’ve done these anniversary issues for other characters but this one comes off as a labor of love for all involved. Next week is the Joker!

Also in the $9.99 range is the new Birds of Prey Black Label one shot, set in the continuity of the new Harley Quinn movie.

Written by Brian Azzarello, who gave us 100 Bullets and showed us Batman’s weenus in Batman Dammed. Worth the price!

Marvel Comics

Marvel only has graphic novels this week as part of their slow return to publishing, which we’re a fan of. The standout this week is the new Hickman X-Men graphic novel, which is his direct follow up to House and Powers of X.

Indie Comics

We finally have a new Sabrina Comic!

Archie dropped the ball by not having a comic in place when the Netflix show turned out to be a hit. It might be too late now but it’s a good looking book, and what you were likely looking for back then.

It you liked Amazon Prime’s The Boys show, Garth Ennis is back with a new series, The Boys: Dear Becky #1.

Not for kids. (Heck, it’s likely too much for most adults as well.) If you’ve watched the show you know what’s going on here.

Figures and Discount Books

We also got two new sets of Marvel Legends figures in, X-Men and Avengers. (which included some gamerverse figures.) Here they are…

This still leaves some room on the new comic book table, so we’ve put out some books at only 25 cents each!

We’ve got seven long boxes going out at a quarter each. (A quarter man, it’s like the 80’s in here.) Apologies to anyone who invested heavily in comics and beanie babies in the 90’s. Multiple copies of Maxx #1, Darker Image #1, Turok #1, RAVAGE 2099 #1 (back off man, it’s written by Stan Lee.) and more? It’s a flipper paradise!

We have also decided to add eight boxes of DC Vertigo books as well, IN ORDER! These books will only be out until Tuesday!

Oh yeah, we’re open on Mondays now. We’ve got our deep cleaning down and are confident that we can knock it out and comfortibly be open. We will continue to have our at risk customer hours from 11am till noon on Thursdays.

Comics at the Corner

This week we helped Dawn Arrington with her ‘Comics at the Corner’ project, to help put literacy in the hands of neighbors and friends in the Buckeye and Mt Pleasant neighborhoods.

“After seeing the effects of adult illiteracy in my neighborhood firsthand, I decided to start Comics at the Corner. Comics at the Corner seeks to put relatable and visually appealing forms of literature in as many hands as possible by way of culturally relevant comic books featuring characters of color.” Since March we’ve been rounding up comics and today Dawn picked up over 1,000 books featuring characters of color. “Unfortunately, the Mt. Pleasant neighborhood has the city of Cleveland’s highest illiteracy rate, above 90%. I’ve witnessed the effects first hand, conversely, I’ve also witnessed the impact of putting something relatable and enjoyable in the hands of the people and to see their faces light up because of it. My goal is to keep putting comics in the hands of as many people in my community as possible.”

We also donated 50 all ages Black Panther graphic novels to Dawn’s cause and I hope these books help create the spark for reading that they did for me.

As far as this weeks social issues go, we’re pro protest, anti riot, and we’ll continue to provide a safe space for all as well as helping out members of our community like Dawn where ever we can, like we always have. (and always will.)

Thanks everyone, for being awesome through everything that’s going on right now. I really like being in the shop again and selling in person.

We finally have a full (well pretty much sorta) New Comic Day at the shop!

Here’s the featured new releases coming out this Wednesday, May 27th, 2020. 

Marvel Comics

We finally have some new Marvel Comics on the table, even though it’s only five titles. 

Avengers #33 is super fun, with Moon Knight taking on the whole team one by one. Jason Aaron stills nails it with this title.

We also have the final part of Donny Cates’ Venom Island story in Venom #25. Over-sized with lots of cool variants. 

For Star Wars fans Doctor Aphra gets a new #1. Think a female Indiana Jones that isn’t always on the right side of things. 

We also have new issues of Marauders and Amazing Spider-Man!

This is how it’s going to be with Marvel, a slow ramp up that will continue until mid July. Here’s a look at next weeks slate and it’s all graphic novels, no new comics.

DC Comics

I’m a huge Starman fan and by proxy Stargirl too. The show was great! A had a fun time watching it with my eldest daughter. Parts of it were really inspiring and Luke Wilson is a great choice to play Stripsey. 

You can get all the comics in one big volume this week for $34.99.

 If we sell out check back, I’ll keep getting it in. 

DC also cleared out some of it’s back log of early reader and teen original graphic novels. If you want to keep those kiddo’s reading this summer (like I do) the young reader books are great.

This week was Anti Hero, two thirteen year old girls destined to become a heroine and a villain. Great animation style artwork. 

My Video Game Ate my Homework doesn’t have superheroes, but it’s great for fans of Minecraft and Dungeons and Dragons.

In the teen section we have Grayson: The Lost Carnival, a story for fans of Dick Grayson before he become Robin.

All of the books in these two lines from DC are excellent and we stock them at all times. (The Raven one even made the New York Times best sellar list.)

Shop Updates

In shop news, we will be reopening on Mondays. We’ve got the deep cleaning down and we’re confident we can do it with the shop open. Expect us to make little changes like this as we continue to reopen. We’re a long way from normal though and we are still strongly encouraging people to wear masks. Thursdays from 11 am to noon are still hours for at risk customers.

The 50% back issues sale is over, but remember we ALWAYS give 25% off back issues and we put new stuff out almost daily.

That’s it for this week! Thank again to everyone for being awesome and for the support these past two weeks!

Well, we made it through our first week, and it wasn’t that bad. It’s a little weird for a shop that prides itself on hand-selling and browsing to work through masks with an occupancy limit, but this is just the way it’ll be for a while. We had about an 85% compliance rate with masks and that’s pretty good in my book. We’ll never demand that you wear one, and we won’t shame you if you don’t, but we do strongly suggest it for the safety of others in our community. You all came out in full force and we had a great week, only tipping into the occupancy limit a couple times. We thank everyone for being understanding during a week that had a very steep learning curve for us. Remember, this won’t go on forever but it’s the new norm for a while.

Remember, we are now closed on Monday for a deep cleaning!

We are available for curbside regular hours if you need anything, but we’re glad we decided to have this day to help us catch up on our work and to just take a mental breather.

This Wednesday will be our first new comic day in two months! Publishers include DC, Image, Dark Horse, IDW, Boom and Dynamite. No Marvels till the 27th. There were also a handful of DC books that got delayed till the 27th at the last minute for everyone. This is a good spot for a PSA: remember, the industry has many different parts: publishers, printers, creators, distributers and retailers. Pull one piece out of the mix and you’re going to have issues. Expect shipments to be wonky, but trust us to get you your books!

This week’s shipment is still a little light, but it’s a good way to test out the shipping system. Here’s a link to the stuff that’s coming out on Wednesday:

(be advised, we don’t carry everything off of this list, but we do carry just about everything from the major publishers.)

We have decided to extend the 50% off back issue 20% off action figures/pop funs/statues sale till the 19th. Why not!!?!? It’ll help stimulate some sales during this ramp up week.

This will be, guaranteed, the last week for this sale.

We’ll keep those $5 DC graphic novels out, those did great. We also put up graphic novel staff picks if you’re looking for something new to read. (these books are regular price but come with the full backing of the staff member involved.)

So what ever happened to those cool masks?

After we were given a shout out by the Governor during his daily briefing, we were flooded by older people in the neighborhood looking for their free mask. While this helped us to reaffirm our commitment to Westpark, we only had a couple left by the end of the day. We had some more made and we will be giving them out again as we originally intended. Free for our customers who are 65 or older or are immunocompromised. If you fit the bill just ask at the counter! We never intended to sell them and they are not cheap to create. (We were getting emails from all over the state asking for one for free.) Nope, they are for our at risk customers as a sign of our commitment to your well being. If there’s some left after we get them to our regulars we’ll let you know. Here’s the contact for Margaret who makes them for us! (and she just got some cool new Marvel fabric in too!)

Shop local!

We’re also proud to report that as off Saturday, all part time staff members are back in one capacity or another, even if it’s just sorting dollar stock. (which I hear builds character.)

(CoVid note: photo taken last November during Black Friday)

This was the goal of the PPP loan, to get America back on line as soon as possible, but in a safe manner. That’s the job and we’re doing our best to make it happen.

Thanks again to all for the understanding this week. You are awesome.

Somehow this week this little ditty popped up from 91′. That makes me older now than mom is in this picture. 🙂

« Older entries § Newer entries »