We finally have a full (well pretty much sorta) New Comic Day at the shop!

Here’s the featured new releases coming out this Wednesday, May 27th, 2020. 

Marvel Comics

We finally have some new Marvel Comics on the table, even though it’s only five titles. 

Avengers #33 is super fun, with Moon Knight taking on the whole team one by one. Jason Aaron stills nails it with this title.

We also have the final part of Donny Cates’ Venom Island story in Venom #25. Over-sized with lots of cool variants. 

For Star Wars fans Doctor Aphra gets a new #1. Think a female Indiana Jones that isn’t always on the right side of things. 

We also have new issues of Marauders and Amazing Spider-Man!

This is how it’s going to be with Marvel, a slow ramp up that will continue until mid July. Here’s a look at next weeks slate and it’s all graphic novels, no new comics.

DC Comics

I’m a huge Starman fan and by proxy Stargirl too. The show was great! A had a fun time watching it with my eldest daughter. Parts of it were really inspiring and Luke Wilson is a great choice to play Stripsey. 

You can get all the comics in one big volume this week for $34.99.

 If we sell out check back, I’ll keep getting it in. 

DC also cleared out some of it’s back log of early reader and teen original graphic novels. If you want to keep those kiddo’s reading this summer (like I do) the young reader books are great.

This week was Anti Hero, two thirteen year old girls destined to become a heroine and a villain. Great animation style artwork. 

My Video Game Ate my Homework doesn’t have superheroes, but it’s great for fans of Minecraft and Dungeons and Dragons.

In the teen section we have Grayson: The Lost Carnival, a story for fans of Dick Grayson before he become Robin.

All of the books in these two lines from DC are excellent and we stock them at all times. (The Raven one even made the New York Times best sellar list.)

Shop Updates

In shop news, we will be reopening on Mondays. We’ve got the deep cleaning down and we’re confident we can do it with the shop open. Expect us to make little changes like this as we continue to reopen. We’re a long way from normal though and we are still strongly encouraging people to wear masks. Thursdays from 11 am to noon are still hours for at risk customers.

The 50% back issues sale is over, but remember we ALWAYS give 25% off back issues and we put new stuff out almost daily.

That’s it for this week! Thank again to everyone for being awesome and for the support these past two weeks!

Well, we made it through our first week, and it wasn’t that bad. It’s a little weird for a shop that prides itself on hand-selling and browsing to work through masks with an occupancy limit, but this is just the way it’ll be for a while. We had about an 85% compliance rate with masks and that’s pretty good in my book. We’ll never demand that you wear one, and we won’t shame you if you don’t, but we do strongly suggest it for the safety of others in our community. You all came out in full force and we had a great week, only tipping into the occupancy limit a couple times. We thank everyone for being understanding during a week that had a very steep learning curve for us. Remember, this won’t go on forever but it’s the new norm for a while.

Remember, we are now closed on Monday for a deep cleaning!

We are available for curbside regular hours if you need anything, but we’re glad we decided to have this day to help us catch up on our work and to just take a mental breather.

This Wednesday will be our first new comic day in two months! Publishers include DC, Image, Dark Horse, IDW, Boom and Dynamite. No Marvels till the 27th. There were also a handful of DC books that got delayed till the 27th at the last minute for everyone. This is a good spot for a PSA: remember, the industry has many different parts: publishers, printers, creators, distributers and retailers. Pull one piece out of the mix and you’re going to have issues. Expect shipments to be wonky, but trust us to get you your books!

This week’s shipment is still a little light, but it’s a good way to test out the shipping system. Here’s a link to the stuff that’s coming out on Wednesday:

(be advised, we don’t carry everything off of this list, but we do carry just about everything from the major publishers.)

We have decided to extend the 50% off back issue 20% off action figures/pop funs/statues sale till the 19th. Why not!!?!? It’ll help stimulate some sales during this ramp up week.

This will be, guaranteed, the last week for this sale.

We’ll keep those $5 DC graphic novels out, those did great. We also put up graphic novel staff picks if you’re looking for something new to read. (these books are regular price but come with the full backing of the staff member involved.)

So what ever happened to those cool masks?

After we were given a shout out by the Governor during his daily briefing, we were flooded by older people in the neighborhood looking for their free mask. While this helped us to reaffirm our commitment to Westpark, we only had a couple left by the end of the day. We had some more made and we will be giving them out again as we originally intended. Free for our customers who are 65 or older or are immunocompromised. If you fit the bill just ask at the counter! We never intended to sell them and they are not cheap to create. (We were getting emails from all over the state asking for one for free.) Nope, they are for our at risk customers as a sign of our commitment to your well being. If there’s some left after we get them to our regulars we’ll let you know. Here’s the contact for Margaret who makes them for us! (and she just got some cool new Marvel fabric in too!)

Shop local!

We’re also proud to report that as off Saturday, all part time staff members are back in one capacity or another, even if it’s just sorting dollar stock. (which I hear builds character.)

(CoVid note: photo taken last November during Black Friday)

This was the goal of the PPP loan, to get America back on line as soon as possible, but in a safe manner. That’s the job and we’re doing our best to make it happen.

Thanks again to all for the understanding this week. You are awesome.

Somehow this week this little ditty popped up from 91′. That makes me older now than mom is in this picture. 🙂

We had a great first day with a very steep learning curve, but we made it through with your help and understanding. Carol even stopped by to wish us Godspeed.

It’s really hard for a business that trades on browsing and hand selling (and large events) to work behind facemasks and limit the number of people in the shop. But the harder it is, the more it feels like the right thing to do.

Oh yeah, we got a shout out from the Governor yesterday too.

New Comics don’t start coming out till next Wednesday, May 20th. No Marvels till the 27th but here’s a link to what’s coming out on the 20th!

So no new comics but here’s some awesome reason to stop in the shop!

50% off all back issues and 20% off all statues, action figures and pop funs until May 19th! We even got some new early bronze DC’s in that have never been in a live show or gallery sale.

We have ten hand picked graphic novels for only $5 each to give you lots of reading material to help you #staysafeathome .

Titles including four five star Batman trades, Scott Snyder’s Batman Court of Owls Volume One, Tom King’s Batman I Am Gotham Volume One, Batman Earth One Volume One by Geoff Johns, and All Star Batman My Own Worst Enemy by Snyder and Romita Jr. (which is one of my favorite Batman stories.)

We also have Greatest Hits Volumes for Justice League, Wonder Woman and Harley Quinn! (so we can get some female characters in the mix!)

We also have all ages selections like SuperPowers (great early reader comic book), Lil’ Gotham and a Batman Animated Series Greatest Hits!

When brought back a few of the part timers and got them back into the swing of things by organizing some dollar bins!

So we now have 25 long boxes of comics on the new comic table IN ORDER for only $1.00 each!

Oh yeah, we also got our ‘Free Comic Book Day Cancelled Until Further Notice’ prints in! You get one FREE with any purchase!

We also got ‘Support Your Local Comic Shop’ stickers, also FREE with any purchase!

See, it’s like we never left!

And finally, by popular demand, we gave Winston a Star Wars A New Hope Medal too! (Good job everyone. We basically just rewarded a cat for doing nothing because you demanded it!)

« Older entries